New Publication, New Opportunities

It’s almost been a year since I moved to New York City, and in that time I’ve learned a lot, seen more odd things than I expected I would, been forced to reckon with what I believe about the world (among other things), and met many interesting and wonderful people.

Among those wonderful people is one of the founders of The Seventh Wave, an “online and print quarterly publication blending essays, poetry, fiction, and art.” I was introduced to Joyce late last year through a mutual friend, and I’d say we hit it off pretty well. One of the things I remember discussing over coffee was The Seventh Wave, though back then it was still in a fledgling stage.

Over the last few months, I’ve been drawn back to creative nonfiction again and again. The impulse to write is strong, and I’ve even done some brainstorming for subjects. I can’t explain how excited I am about CNF! I’ve been a pretty regular reader of The Hippocampus Magazine for awhile now, and the more I read, the more I’m convinced that this niche is where I will be investing a lot of time in the future.

But for now, I wanted to let you folks know about The Seventh Wave’s open call for submissions (more details here). For any of you who are interested in getting your writing (or other forms of artistic expression) out there, this is an excellent opportunity to be a part of a new publication that has a strong vision and dedicated people working behind the scenes!

For the past ten months, the four of us have been wrestling with gaps. But not the ones between the subway cars and the platforms. No, we’ve been wrestling with the gaps that exist between us, as human beings — between what you know and what I know, between how you grew up and how I grew up, between your opinions and mine. Every interaction between us is informed by these differences, but where do they come from?

If you’re interested, take a peek at the submission guidelines and wrestle with what “the gap” means to you.

Leave a comment