Update!

Hey folks! It’s been a good while since I’ve posted here… but I do have a solid reason: schoolwork. 

Never before have I experienced not having enough time to do everything I need to. I’ve had moments (many of them) where I chose to spend time on things I didn’t NEED to do, but this past week has opened my eyes to the reality of there not being enough hours in the day. A milestone in my growth from college student to working adult? 

Most frustrating is a recent desire to spend an entire afternoon with music, whiteboard, and poems, but guess what?! No time. Literally. =( 

I’m taking a poetry writing class this semester, and one thing that had struck me in the course of writing and workshopping is the importance of spending time with the poems one writes. I have a habit of writing something, polishing it after I’m done, giving it up to workshop, and then leaving it alone until a mid-term manuscript or submission deadline looms in the near future. Not having enough time to spend with my poems and fiction pieces frustrates me because it’s something, one of the few things, that I absolutely LOVE to do. A lot of learning and application takes place when intentional review and revision happens. 

However, I have been productive, regardless of my writer woes! I’ve made it through a third round of resume critiques! The Vocatio Center on campus has been amazing in helping me develop my resume to its full potential. This past meeting showed me that I have a whole lot of work to do even still (and here I was, thinking I was ready to go apply to internships…), but I’m excited to do the work, especially if it results in me getting placed at a publishing company internship for this summer. My fourth review is set for March 22, so I have a little time to mull, but the plan is to get it ship-shape next weekend if I can. 

Also, I’ve mentioned on my personal blog that I have a goal to read 50 books this year, and since that goal is all about books/writing, I thought it worthwhile to post my progress here! So far, I haven’t been as progressive in this goal as I would like to be, but considering the heavy workload I have this semester, I’ve done more pleasure/personally-enrichment reading than I expected! 

 

In Progess: 

  • The Meaning of Marriage
  • Life Together
  • Love in the Time of Cholera (pg. 34)

To Read

  • Les Miserables
  • An Agatha Christie book (haven’t decided yet…)
  • Strong Poison (Dorothy Sayers)

Completed

  • Green (Ted Dekker)
  • The Vicar of Wakefield (Oliver Goldsmith)
  • Sense and Sensibility (Jane Austen) 

 

Till next time! 

Leave a Reply

